☰ Menu

2019 Australia Day nominations are now open

8 October 2018

Nominations for the 2019 Wattle Range Council Australia Day Awards are now open. 

The Awards reward and recognise individuals and organisations that have made a noteworthy contribution during the current year, and/or give an outstanding service over a number of years, to the local community. 

Wattle Range Council is encouraging people to take a moment and consider those that make a difference in our community. Nominations are open until Friday 16 November 2018.

“There are a lot of volunteers in our community who are out there making Wattle Range a great place to live. Why not nominate someone you know?” Council’s Chief Executive Officer, Ben Gower asks. 

“Now is the time to make sure these people receive the recognition they deserve.

“Nominations from our community are essential in making the awards successful. Each year Council invites the community to identify and nominate individuals or organisations who have made a significant contribution to Wattle Range and we are often astounded with the calibre of the individuals and organisations put forward.”

Nomination for the Awards are now open in the Corcoran, Kintore, Riddoch and Sorby Adams Wards for:
Citizen of the Year Award
To be eligible, the person must be an Australian Citizen.
Young Citizen of the Year Award
To be eligible, the person must be an Australian Citizen aged over 16 years and under 30 years of age on January 26, 2019.
Community Event of the Year Award
This is presented to the person/group who has staged the most outstanding community event during the past year.

Nominations will close on Friday, 16 November 2018. Forms can be completed either online or in hard copy and are available from Council’s website or from your Council Office in Millicent, Penola or Beachport.

The winners are celebrated as part of local Australia Day events hosted by service clubs in Beachport, Kalangadoo, Millicent & Penola on Australia Day (26 January).

Further information is available on the website at www.wattlerange.sa.gov.au/AustDAYAWARDS or by contacting any of Council’s offices.



For further information regarding this release please contact:

Ben Gower, Chief Executive Officer
Email:                       council@wattlerange.sa.gov.au
Telephone:               (08) 8733 0900


My Local Services

Page Last Modified: 2019-02-13T13:04:56