☰ Menu

2019 Australia Day Award winners announced

17 December 2018

Mayor Des Noll has today announced the recipients of the 2019 Wattle Range Council Australia Day Awards.

Mayor Noll said - “These awards acknowledge the fantastic contribution and services provided to the community by these hardworking individuals and groups right across our Council area”.

Recipients of the awards, which will be presented in the new year, are:

Citizen of the Year
  • Leon Miels, Millicent (Corcoran Ward)
  • George Osis, Southend (Kintore Ward)
  • John Heyward, Penola (Riddoch Ward)
  • Robert Stewart, Kalangadoo (Sorby Adams Ward)
Young Citizen of the Year
  • Samuel Linton, Millicent (Corcoran Ward)
  • Zoe Moran, Beachport (Kintore Ward)
  • Gorgia Robbie, Penola (Riddoch Ward)
Community Event of the Year
  • Millicent Basketball Junior Tournament (Corcoran Ward)
  • Beachport IRB Carnival (Kintore Ward)
  • 35th International Beefsteak & Burgundy Convention, Coonawarra (Riddoch Ward)
  • Lowan Homestead 150th Celebrations (Sorby Adams Ward)

“Each one is a worthy recipient, to be congratulated and commended for their awards, and indeed their contribution to making Wattle Range a great place to live and work.” Mayor Noll went on to say.

“The calibre of the nominations is always high, and this year was no exception” he said. “Every one of the 2019 nominees has made a valuable contribution to the Wattle Range community and was worthy of such recognition”  

The Awards will be officially presented at 9 am at Australia Day breakfast functions which commence at 8 am on Saturday, January 26, 2019 at the following venues:

Millicent Jubilee Park, North Terrace, Millicent
Penola Penola War Memorial Park, Church Street, Penola
Beachport Lagoon Reserve, Sommerville Street, Beachport
Kalangadoo       Kalangadoo Institute, Eliza Street, Kalangadoo

Mayor Noll will be attending the celebration at Penola to make the Riddoch Ward presentations and Deputy Mayor Glenn Brown will present the Sorby Adams awards in Kalangadoo, whilst the other awards will be presented by the respective ward elected members at their official function.

“I urge everyone in the Wattle Range Council region to come along and join in with the Australia Day celebrations on January 26, 2019,” Mr Noll said.




For further information please contact:

Mayor Des Noll
Email:                       council@wattlerange.sa.gov.au
Telephone:               (08) 8733 0900 or 0428 515 967


My Local Services

Page Last Modified: 2019-02-13T13:04:56