☰ Menu

Final days for 2020 Australia Day Nominations

13 November 2019

Nominations to Wattle Range Council’s 2020 Australia Day awards are closing soon.

Council’s Mayor Des Noll urges residents to “take the opportunity to recognise an individual who has made a difference to our local community.

"Remember that these people can be the unsung silent do-ers, not only the standout frontline community members in both the Young Citizen and Citizen of the Year Awards.

“When you attend your towns 2020 Australia Day breakfast, don’t wonder why the person you think deserves to win wasn’t nominated… act now and make that nomination,” he encouraged.

2019 Corcoran Ward Citizen of the Year, Leon Miels was happy to receive the recognition, not only for himself, but also those who have supported him: “…it has meant that I could recognise all the wonderful people who I have worked with and who have put up with me. It is an opportunity to thank all those who have accompanied me on this journey”.

Nominations are being sought for Young Citizen of the, Citizen of the Year and Community Event of the Year in each of Council’s four wards.

Penola’s John Heyward, also awarded Citizen of the Year last year, was humbled by the honour: “…it made me feel proud to come from Penola and be an Australian. It also made me think a lot of people deserve it more than me”.

Nominations can be completed online at www.wattlerange.sa.gov.au/AustDAYAWARDS or hardcopy forms are available from each of Council offices. They will be accepted until 9am on Monday, 18 November 2019.

The 2020 award winners will be announced later in the year and celebrated at the local Australia Day breakfast events hosted by Lions’ clubs in Beachport, Kalangadoo, Millicent & Penola.




For further information please contact:

Steve Chapple, Director Development Services
Email:                       council@wattlerange.sa.gov.au
Telephone:                (08) 8733 0900


My Local Services

Page Last Modified: 2019-02-13T13:04:56