2020 Australia Day Award winners announced

Mayor Des Noll today announced the recipients of the 2020 Wattle Range Council Australia Day Awards.

Mayor Noll said, “the awards acknowledge the contribution and service provided to the community by these hardworking individuals and groups.”

Recipients of the awards, which will be presented in the new year are:

Young Citizen of the Year

Corcoran Ward - Sally Sapiatzer
Kintore Ward - Brandon Kimber
Riddoch Ward - Brooke Hutchesson

Citizen of the Year

Corcoran Ward - Craig Kuiper
Kintore Ward - Bob Wakelin
Riddoch Ward - Margaret Muller
Sorby Adams - Victor Smith

Community Event of the Year

Riddoch Ward - Pink up Penola

Mr Noll said the recipients are to be congratulated for their awards.

“As always, I am impressed with the calibre of this year’s nominations,” he said. “Each of the 2020 award winners has made a valuable contribution to the Wattle Range community and is worthy of such recognition.”

The Awards will be officially presented at 9 am at Australia Day breakfast functions which commence at 8 am on Sunday, January 26, 2020 at the following venues:

Millicent Jubilee Park, North Terrace, Millicent
Penola War Memorial Park, Church Street, Penola
Beachport Lagoon Reserve, Sommerville Street, Beachport
Kalangadoo Kalangadoo Institute, Eliza Street, Kalangadoo

In Southend, an inaugural Australia Day afternoon will be held at the western beach from 2 pm.

As part of the yearly rotation, the Mayor will be attending the Millicent function to present the Corcoran awards. Whilst the other awards will be presented by the respective ward councillors at their official breakfast function.

“I urge everyone in the Wattle Range Council region to come along and join in with the Australia Day celebrations on January 26, 2020,” Mr Noll said.

For further information please contact:

Mayor Des Noll
Email:                       council@wattlerange.sa.gov.au
Telephone:                (08) 8733 0900 or 0428 515 967