☰ Menu

Australia Day Awards 2017

Australia Day Awards 2017

19 December 2016

Mayor Peter Gandolfi today announced the recipients of the 2017 Wattle Range Australia Day Awards.

Mr Gandolfi said the awards acknowledge the contribution and service provided to the community by individuals and groups.

Recipients of the 2017 Australia Day Citizen of the Year Awards are Arvan Carthew of Tantanoola, Julie Moran of Beachport, Annie Kilsby of Penola and Kerry Dowdell of Kalangadoo.

Jack Lane of Millicent will receive the Australia Day Young Citizen of the Year Award for the Corcoran Ward, Dallas Skeer of Furner for the Kintore Ward and Alana Winter will be the Riddoch Ward award winner. 

Australia Day Community Event of the Year Awards will be awarded to the Millicent AH & P Society for the Corcoran Ward, and for the Riddoch Ward, The Penola Coonawarra Arts Festival.

Mr Gandolfi said the recipients are to be congratulated for their awards.

“Our volunteers make a valuable contribution throughout Wattle Range and this is a small way to recognise their achievements in making our region a great place to live,” Mr Gandolfi said.   

The Awards will be officially presented at 9 am at Australia Day breakfast functions which commence at 8 am on Monday, January 26, 2017 at the following venues:

MILLICENT                -         Jubilee Park, North Terrace, Millicent

PENOLA                     -         War Memorial Park, Church Street, Penola

BEACHPORT             -         Lagoon Reserve, Sommerville Street, Beachport

KALANGADOO        -         Kalangadoo Institute, Eliza Street, Kalangadoo

As part of the yearly rotation Mayor Peter Gandolfi will be attending the Sorby Adams Ward presentations at Kalangadoo, whilst the other awards will be presented by their respective elected members at each Ward celebration.

“I urge everyone in the Wattle Range Council region to join the Australia Day celebrations on January 26, 2017”.



For further information please contact:
Peter Gandolfi – Mayor
Email:                      council@wattlerange.sa.gov.au
Telephone:              (08) 8733 0900       


My Local Services

Page Last Modified: 2016-07-26T16:02:42