Community Town Plans

Wattle Range Council continues to develop ten year Community Town Plans (CTP) for each of the townships within its boundaries.

These Town Plans have enabled each community to develop a vision for each of our unique towns and take a more strategic approach to projects and initiatives over the ensuing ten years.

In each town Council facilitated a public meeting to assist the community with the development of a ten year CTP, through the establishment of a committee or group to drive the project.

At these meetings participants were encouraged to help develop a Vision Statement for the township, highlight what makes each town unique and what potential is available for the future.

Each plan has been developed in consultation with businesses, residents and the wider community.

The community outcomes and projects developed during this consultation will assist Council with future strategic directions relative to infrastructure needs and budgetary considerations.

Community Town Plans

The Beachport Community Town Plan was adopted on the 16th January 2018.


To improve Beachport for residents to reside and work, visitors to stay, and for the future prosperity of Beachport from a social, economic, recreational and environmental perspective; whilst maintaining the character intrinsic to the community.

The Coonawarra Community Town Plan was adopted on the 13 June 2017


Coonawarra is a community that’s vibrant, passionate, sophisticated and unique – one that will continue to honour tradition while embracing innovation and nurturing sustainable viticulture for the future.

Coonawarra will be nationally and internationally recognised as a progressive, world class wine-growing and tourism region, whose unique culture is embodied in its wine and its people.

The Furner Community Town Plan was adopted on the 11th December 2018


FURNER – A safe and tranquil, history rich community for both residents and visitors, with a view to enhanced future facilities, services and agricultural and pastoral enterprises.

The Glencoe Community Town Plan was adopted on the 10th December 2019


The Hatherleigh Community Town Plan was adopted on the 10th December 2019


Maintain the beauty increase the views.

The Kalangadoo Community Town Plan was adopted on the 11th June 2019


Kalangadoo is a vibrant, dynamic and community focused town which is socially inclusive offering diverse opportunities for all. We are proud of our past and excited for our future.

The Kangaroo Inn Community Town Plan was adopted on the 11th September 2018


We would like our unique community to be vibrant, safe and supportive with a strong sense of connectedness in a sustainable and eco-friendly environment.

The Millicent Community Town Plan was adopted on the 14th November 2017


The Millicent Community is centrally located in the clean green environment of the Limestone Coast and prospers with its variety of health, wealth and social services. Our future lies in further developing Accommodation, Tourism, Commerce, Education, Health, Primary production, Recreation and Transport.

The Mount Burr Community Town Plan was adopted on the 9th October 2018


A town that will remain a beautiful, peaceful and safe place for people to live with a great sense of community and pride.

To enhance the unique qualities of Mount Burr while bringing new life and prosperity.

The Nangwarry Community Town Plan was adopted on the 12th June 2018


The town of Nangwarry seeks sustainable growth that protects our natural and historic resources, while preserving our values, qualities and culture.

The Penola Community Town Plan was adopted on the 19th January 2016


A thriving region of opportunity where our communities enjoy a vibrant and fulfilled lifestyle in a clean and pristine environment:

- A region of opportunity for all

- A region with safe, strong, happy and connected communities.

- A region where our community supports local businesses and is open to new ideas.

- A region that celebrates our agricultural, viticulture, fine foods, history, arts and festivals.

- A region actively involved in promoting itself and the attractions it has to increase much needed visitors to the region.

The Rendelsham Community Town Plan was adopted on 16th January 2018.


RENDELSHAM – A place where people can enjoy a future in a clean, safe community.

The Southend Community Town Plan was adopted on the 12th June 2018


Southend will offer a quality lifestyle, while retaining its unique and picturesque small seaside town charm.

The Tantanoola Community Town Plan was adopted on the 27 November 2018


We want Tantanoola to be a viable and vibrant community which is family friendly and with a mix of age groups who can all positively contribute to our safe, clean and green community. It can be a place of education, employment, business and an inviting place for visitors. Tantanoola can be an inclusive community where residents support each other in an aesthetically beautiful location.

Towns in the Wattle Range Area

Wattle Range Council area is made up of the Riddoch, Kintore, Sorby Adams and Corcoran Wards.

Within these wards are thirteen townships, one Community Area and one National Park. Please click on any of the town names below to learn more information.